Swimmer
NFHS_Sports_Equipment_1

  SEARCH

Advanced Search

NFHS Coaching Today
Ultimate Highschool Buyers Guide
Print

2013-14 Frequently Asked Questions (January 17, 2014)

 (Last Update: January 17, 2014)

General

1. Situation: Is a gymnast allowed to compete with earrings if the earrings are covered with tape?
    Rule 3-3-3, Uniforms - 3.3.3 Situation
    Ruling: Jewelry, including earrings and earrings covered with tape may not be worn.   1/11/13

 

2. Situation: Is there a deduction for unauthorized people on the competitive floor?

    Rule 2-3-1

    Ruling: No, there is no deduction for unauthorized people on the competitive floor. It is the responsibility of the Meet Director and the host management to secure personnel for the operation of a successful meet. Host management is responsible for keeping unauthorized people off of the competitive floor.   12/30/13

 

Equipment

1. Situation: Could the balance beam be placed on the floor exercise mat during the beam event because the landing area for the beam is short and does not meet rule specifications?

    Rule 8-1-1b

    Ruling: No, the balance beam may not be placed on the floor exercise mat for competition because the spring floor or any other padded surface does not provide a level and stable surface.   12/30/13

 

2. Situation: Can a sting mat be placed between mats for landing?

    Rules 8-1-2b & 8-1-3f

    Ruling: Yes, a sting mat may be placed anywhere in the mat stack, as long as the height of the mats does not exceed 19 inches. It can be on the bottom of the stack, in between mats or on top of the stack.   12/30/13

 

3. Situation: Can a gymnast compete with earrings?

    Rule 3-3-3

    Ruling: Earrings may not be worn in competition. Tape may not be used to cover earrings in competition. The chief judge should not give the signal for the gymnast to begin if the gymnast is wearing earrings.   1/16/14

Scoring

1. Situation: Can an element be repeated multiple times for the eight required elements and can an element that is void be counted toward the minimum of eight elements?
    Page 94 #3
    Ruling: Yes. The same element can be performed multiple times to receive credit for eight recognizable elements. Void elements may also count toward the eight recognizable elements.   1/23/12


2. Situation: Can a gymnast receive 0.4 credit for 2 HL BBS using the exact same element all four times? For example, the first series is wolf jump 1/2, wolf jump 1/2 and the second series is wolf jump 1/2, wolf jump 1/2.
    Rule 4-1-2A(4) & NOTE
    Ruling: When an element is performed a third time it cannot receive Value Part credit. If an element does not receive Value Part credit, it cannot be used to fulfill event requirements or Bonus. In the example, only the first series of wolf jump 1/2, wolf jump 1/2 would receive HL BBS. The second series would not receive Value Part credit because that would be the third time a wolf jump 1/2 was performed.   11/1/12


3. Situation: When calculating back-to-back superior credit in Bonus, do the back-to-back superiors have to be linked in chronological order?
    Rule 4-1-2E (1, 2, 3a, b, c)
    Ruling: No, back-to-back superiors should be calculated to the benefit of the gymnast. Example on bars: long hang kip, giant, giant. The long hang kip connected to a giant is S + HS for a LL BBS +0.1. The giant, giant is a HS + HS for a HL BBS. The gymnast would get +0.2 for the HL BBS as opposed to the S + HS.   12/12/12


4. Situation: Can 0.4 be awarded in Bonus for a back handspring directly connected to a back salto on the beam?
    Rule 8-3-5
    Ruling: Yes, because the back handspring is a high superior when it is combined with a superior/high superior/advanced high superior acro element. The combination would receive 0.2 for a HL BBS because the back handspring is combined with an advanced high superior (HS + AHS = HL BBS). The back salto would receive 0.2 in Bonus for an advanced high superior performed without a fall or spot.   12/13/12


5. Situation: Can a single element in a series be counted twice to receive HL BBS and LL BBS? Example: on bars - long hang kip, giant, giant.
    Rule 7-3-5c NOTE 3
    Ruling: No, a single element in a series may only be counted once. In the example, if the long hang kip to the giant was used, it would receive LL BBS. If the giant to the giant was used, it would receive HL BBS.   12/17/12


6. Situation: Can more than 0.2 be earned in the third section of Bonus?
    Rule 4-1-2E
    Ruling: No, this section is only worth 0.2. Bonus has three main sections. In the first section, a maximum of 0.4 can be earned for two different advanced high superiors without a fall or spot. Each advanced high superior is worth 0.2. The second section is worth a maximum of 0.2 for the performance of one HL BBS. The third section is worth a maximum of 0.2, which can be earned in one of three ways.
1 - A maximum of 0.2 can be earned for 2 LL BBS at 0.1 each.
2 - A maximum of 0.2 can be earned for a second HL BBS.
3 - A maximum of 0.2 can be earned for a 3rd different advanced high superior without a fall or spot.
   A gymnast can only earn 0.2 in this section using one of the three methods described. A gymnast cannot earn 0.2 for LL BBS and 0.2 for a second HL BBS and 0.2 for a third advanced high superior.   1/11/13


7. Situation: Can a gymnast receive credit in Bonus for an advanced high superior that had a deduction of 0.5 for landing with support on the mat with 1 or 2 hands?

    Rules 7-3-4d, 8-3-4d & 9-3-4d

    Ruling: No credit may be earned in Bonus for an advanced high superior that has a deduction of 0.5 for landing with support of hands on the mat. Support of the hands on the mat is considered the same as a fall.   1/11/13

 

8. Situation: If a spotter facilitates an element, can that element receive Value Part credit?

    Rule 4-1-2A(3)

    Ruling: An element that is facilitated cannot receive Value Part credit.   12/30/13

 

9. Situation: Can an element count as one of the eight required elements if a spotter facilitates the element?

    Rule 4-1-2A(3)

    Ruling: Yes, an element that is facilitated can count as one of the eight required elements.   12/30/13

 

10. Situation: Is a second fall deduction taken if a gymnast falls during her routine and, while remounting the apparatus, falls again?

    Rules 6-4-4m, 7-3-4d(2) & 8-3-4d(2)

    Ruling: The routine watch stops during a fall and the fall watch begins. If the gymnast falls while trying to remount the apparatus, the fall watch would be started again.   1/8/14

 

11. Situation: What are the deductions that are taken when a routine only has seven elements?

    Rules 4-1-2A, 7-3-6d, 8-3-6d & 9-3-6c

    Ruling: The judge takes a 0.5 neutral deduction for each missing element (8 are required). Additionally, a deduction is taken in Difficulty for the Value Part that is missing (4 mediums, 3 superiors, 1 high superior).   1/16/14

Composition Guidelines
1. Situation: On beam and floor, there is a deduction for the overuse of dance elements of the same shape. Example: wolf or tuck shape with or without twist, straddle shape with or without twist. Are these the only shapes that can receive the overuse deduction?
    Rules 8-3-3a (7) & 9-3-3a (7)
    Ruling: No, the overuse of any shape may receive a deduction. The wolf, tuck and straddle shapes are examples.   12/12/12

Balance Beam

1.  Situation:  Is a switch wolf different a different element from a wolf jump? 
    Rule 8-5
    
Ruling:  Yes.  A switch wolf takes off of 1 foot and a switch jump takes off of 2 feet.     12/6/11


2.  Situation:  What is the value of a switch wolf?
    Rule 8-6-2, also p. 92
    Ruling:  Superior.     12/6/11


3.  Situation:  What is the shape of a switch wolf?
    Rule 1
    Ruling:  Wolf shape.     12/6/11

  

4.  Situation:  Does a kick to handstand on beam need to be held?
    Rule 8-6-6, Box 6.101
    Ruling:  To receive medium Value Part credit, the handstand must be held for 2 seconds.  Simply kicking to the handstand and touching one foot to the other foot does not meet the element description in the book for Value Part cred.     12/15/11


5.  Situation:  What is the value of a tinsica on beam?
    Rule 8-6-8 #8.201
    Ruling:  A tinsica is just a variation of a forward walkover and is valued a superior.     12/22/11


6.  Situation:  Should a deduction be taken if a gymnast performs a full turn on beam and steps either forward or backward at the completion of the turn?
    Rule 8-6-3, Box 2.101, 8-3-4c (2)
   
Ruling:  As long as the full turn is complete, it does not matter if the gymnast steps forward or backward.  However, if the gymnast is stepping forward or backward because they are out of balance then, an up to 0.3 deduction can be taken for additional movements to maintain balance.     1/23/12


7.  Situation:  Is there a deduction if the gymnast proceeds to mount the beam and uses a double bounce?
    Rule 8-2-1
   
Ruling:  If the gymnast double bounces on the board, the second bounce is considered a fall.  Rule 8-2-1 states that timing shall begin when the feet leave the board.  It is considered a fall if the gymnast comes back down on the board after leaving the board.     1/23/12


8.  Situation:  Does a cartwheel with bent arms through chest stand qualify as a sideward direction?
    Rule 8-3-3b
   
Ruling:  Yes, a cartwheel with bent arms through chest stand, a medium, is a variation of a cartwheel and would fulfill the sideward direction.     2/13/12


9.  Situation:  Can a handstand 1/2 turn be used to fulfill the two direction requirement in composition?
    Rule 8-3-3b NOTE
    Ruling:  Handstands do not fulfill the two direction requirement in composition.     12/12/12


10.  Situation:  Can a backward roll connected to a needle scale fulfill the dance-acro/acro-dance series of difficulty on the beam?
    Rule 8-2-3 (bold sentence)
    Ruling:  No, because a dance balance may not be used and a needle scale is a dance balance.     12/13/12


11.  Situation:  Is a handstand on beam considered an acro element?
    Rule 8-6-6, Box 6.101
    Ruling:  Yes, a handstand is considered an acro element.     12/13/12


12.  Situation:  In Box 9.302, can the flic-flac directly connected to a superior acro element be the second element in the series?
    Rule 8-6-9, Box 9.302
    Ruling:  No, the flic-flac must be first, just as the round-off must be first in Box 8.306.     12/13/12


13.  Situation:  What does the judge do when time is called and the gymnast is still on the beam?
    Rule 8-2-1a
    Ruling:  If the gymnast is on the beam or in the air when time is called, the judge continues judging until the feet land on the floor. All elements are judged and a CJ deduction of 0.1 is taken for overtime from the average score.     12/17/12

 

14. Situation: Can an illusion with a brief touch of hand count as a full turn on beam?

    Rule 8-6-3, Box 3.403

    Ruling: Yes, an illusion with a brief touch of hand can count as a full turn. The touch must be brief and the turn may not be stopped or interrupted.   12/30/13

 

15. Situation: Is a full turn considered complete if the heel drops to the floor 20° from completion?

    Rule 9-4-7, Fig.4 (page 58)

    Ruling: Yes, a turn is considered complete and Value Part is awarded if the turn is completed within 89° of the required end position.   12/30/13

 

16. Situation: What Value Part is given to a straddle pike jump with legs below 135°?

    Rule 8-4-1,2

    Ruling: If the legs are split less than the required 135° on a straddle pike jump on beam, credit is given for a stretched jump (medium).   12/30/13

 

17. Situation: Can a third back walkover be given Value Part credit if the first back walkover is successfully completed (M), the second back walkover is not completed (no VP credit) and the third back walkover is completed (M)?

    Rules 4-1-2A(1)(4) & 8-2-6

    Ruling: If an element is not given Value Part credit, it can be performed again to receive Value Part credit.   1/8/14

 

Floor Exercise

1.  Situation:  May floor exercise music contain human sounds or singing? 
    Rule 9-3-7o
 
   Ruling:  The musical accompaniment must be recorded with orchestration, piano, or other instruments (without singing).  Human sounds are allowed, provided there are no words spoken or sung.  There is a 1.0 chief judge deduction for absence of music or music with voice or song/speech.     9/5/11


2.  Situation:  Is a switch wolf a different element from a wolf jump?
    Rule 9-5
    Ruling:  Yes.  A switch wolf takes off of 1 foot and a switch jump takes off of 2 feet.     12/6/11


3.  Situation:  What is the value of a switch wolf?
    Rule 9-6-1
    Ruling:  Medium.     12/6/11


4.  Situation:  What is the shape of a switch wolf?
    Rule 1
    Ruling:  Wolf shape.     12/6/11


5.  Situation:  Can a team position teammates at all four corners of the floor exercise mat to cheer on a team member while she is competing?
    
Rule 5
    Ruling:  No, they may not.  The purpose of a coach in the competitive area is to spot a competitor.   The judge may take a deduction for the coach or teammates giving verbal cues to a gymnast.     12/22/12


6.  Situation:  Can a switch side leap to a Popa fulfill the event requirement of a dance series of two Value Parts of different shapes?
    Rule 9-2-3

    Ruling:  No.  A switch side leap and a Popa (straddle jump with a full) both have the same shape.  Remember it is the finishing position of the body from the apex to the landing that determines the shape of a leap or jump.  A switch side leap is a straddle shape and a Popa is a straddle shape.     1/23/12


7.  Situation:  What is the difference between directly connected and indirectly connected elements for back-to-back superior credit?
    Rule 1, 9-3-5c (4)
    Ruling:  Concept 1: Directly connected refers to two or more elements performed without a pause, step or repositioning of the feet between elements. A pass must contain a minimum of three directly connected acro elements, one of which is an element of value, or two directly connected front acro elements, one of which (or the series) is a high superior or advanced high superior.
     Concept 2: On floor exercise, superior, high superior and/or advanced high superior acro elements may receive back-to-back credit if they are indirectly connected (with mediums between the S/HS/AHS) within the same directly connected pass. Example: front salto round-off, flic-flac, back salto. Indirectly connected refers to the mediums between the elements as in the example.     12/12/12


8.  Situation:  Is a back handspring to the knees considered a variation of a back handspring?
    Rule 9-6-6, Box 6.103
    Ruling:  Yes, it is considered a variation of a back handspring and would not be considered a separate element. If a gymnast performed one back handspring in the first acro pass and a back handspring to the knees somewhere else in the routine and one back handspring in the third acro pass, the third back handspring would be considered repetition and would receive no Value Part credit.     12/13/12


9.  Situation:  Can a layout front to a layout front get advanced high superior credit as well as HL BBS?
    Rule 9-6-8, Box 8.402
     Ruling:  Yes, a series of saltos forward (stretched) (HS + HS) would receive HL BBS.     12/17/12


10.  Situation:  How is the shape of a leap determined?
    Rule 1
     Ruling:  The shape of a leap or jump is determined at the apex (highest point) to the finish (landing).     12/17/12

 

11. Situation: Can a series of two front saltos count as a front tumbling pass?

    Rule 9-2-2

    Ruling: Yes, an acro pass must contain a minimum of three directly-connected acro elements, one of which must be a Value Part or two directly-connected front acro elements, at least one of which (or the series) is a high superior/advanced high superior. A series of saltos forward (#8.302) is a high superior, which meets the definition of a pass.   12/30/13

 

12. Situation: What back-to-back superior credit in Bonus does a flyspring, flyspring to a front tuck or pike receive on floor exercise?

    Rules 9-2-3 & 9-6-6, Boxes 6.202 & 6.302

    Ruling: Rule 9-2-3 states that a single element within a series shall not be used twice in order to fulfill two series. Therefore, the second flyspring may not be used twice. The series may be awarded a S (flyspring) + HS (flyspring to front salto) OR a HS (flyspring, flyspring series) + S (salto). Either way, that the elements are combined results in +0.1 for a LL BBS (S+HS or HS+S) in Bonus.   12/30/13

 

13. Situation: What procedure is followed when the music stops in the middle of a floor routine?

    Rules 2-2-1b(9) & 9-3-7o

    Ruling: When the music stops due to technical failure, the gymnast may continue her routine. Upon completion of the routine, the gymnast and coach must decide whether to repeat the routine or accept the score that is given. The judges will not post a score until that decision is made. No deduction is taken for the absence of music. If there is no technical failure and the gymnast chooses to perform an entire routine without music, a 1.0 chief judge deduction is taken.   12/30/13

 

14. Situation: What is the expected leg position of the straight leg on a ring jump? What is the expected leg position of a stag-ring?

    Rule 9-4-6

    Ruling: On a ring jump, the front leg must be a minimum of 45° from the floor in a forward-downward diagonal position; if not, deduct up to 0.10 for insufficient amplitude of the front leg. On a stag-ring jump or stag-ring leap, the expectation is the front leg is bent at a minimum of 90° with no extension of the leg. There should be a 180° leg separation from the front knee to the back knee.   12/30/13

 

15. Situation: Would a gymnast be credited with a LL BBS if she performs a tucked front somersault in the beginning of her routine and, toward the end of the routine, she performs a tuck front, tuck front series?

    Rules 9-3-4c(1) & 9-6-8, Box 8.302

    Ruling: Yes, the front, front series is listed as a separate element and would receive LL BBS.   1/12/14

 

16. Situation: Can a gymnast perform a round-off double back somersault and receive credit for a pass?

    Rule 1

    Ruling: A backward acro pass must contain three directly-connected acro elements. A front acro pass can have two directly-connected front acro elements, at least one of which (or the series) is a high superior or advanced high superior element of value.   1/16/14

 

17. Situation: On floor exercise, is there a requirement that states there must be one pass that has both backward and forward/sideward acro elements?

    Rule 9-3-3b

    Ruling: No. Three acro passes are required. Of the three passes, one must contain backward acro elements. Another pass must contain forward/sideward acro elements. Any acro element may be used to fulfill the two-direction requirement, except a round-off and a handstand.   1/16/14

 

18. What are the requirements of a wolf full to receive high superior Value Part credit?

    Rule 9-4-2 & Appendix B (Dance Criteria/Technique)

    Ruling: The thighs of both legs are expected to be at horizontal. If the thighs are up to 44° below horizontal, an up to 0.1 deduction is taken. If the thighs are more than 44° below horizontal, recognize the performance as a different element.   1/16/14

Uneven Bars
1. Situation: Is a tap swing an extra swing? 
    Rule 7-3-4c (7) 
    Ruling: Yes a tap swing is an extra swing. A tap swing is a technique used to execute a giant or another circling element and is used to increase speed in a swing. Using the tap swing technique, the body should be in a hollow position as it begins the downward-forward swing from the high bar. As the feet pass the low bar, the body relaxes from the hollow position to a slight arch. The slight arched position is maintained through the vertical, under the low bar, and then returns to the hollow position as it moves toward the level of the high bar while the legs/feet aggressively thrust forward-upward.   12/6/11 


2. Situation: Can #1.202, a free tuck/straddle jump over the LB to on HB, count for the superior release requirement?
    Rule 1
    Ruling: No. This mount does not have a release of both hands, a show of flight, followed by a catch of either bar with both hands simultaneously.   12/6/11


3. Situation: A gymnast falls on the uneven bars in an attempt to do a long hang kip. The coach lifts the gymnast to a front support on the high bar. Does the gymnast still get 2 non-penalized extra swings? 
    Rule 7-3-4c(7) & pg. 92 
    Ruling: Once the coach put the gymnast back on the bar, 0.5 is taken for the fall and the gymnast is allowed 2 swings to initiate momentum.   12/22/11 


4. Situation: Is a kip cast hop to grip change considered a release? 
    Rule 7-2-2a, 7-4 Fig. 1 
    Ruling: A release has to be a superior. If a gymnast does a cast handstand hop she has to hop within the 20 degree range on the way up, with both hands simultaneously, and has to end up in a different grip. Casting to 30 degrees or 45 degrees and hopping is not a release and is not an element.   12/22/11 


5. Situation: How should a judge handle a late turn during a giant that the coach claims is a Higgins roll?
    Rule 7-4, pg. 91
    Ruling:
    Description – Giant with ½ turn (#5.401) – A blind change and a Higgins roll are 2 different techniques of turning when doing a giant with a ½ turn (BHS). 
In a blind change, the gymnast would leave her left hand on the bar, let go with her right and turn to the left and put her right hand on in either an overgrip or undergrip (ready for a front giant). The left hand that was left on the bar would now be in the undergrip. In a blind change the turn occurs prior to reaching vertical in the handstand. 
In a Higgins roll, the gymnast would leave her right hand on the bar, leg go with her left and still turn to the left, open out the chest and reach the left hand back and put it on the bar, usually in an undergrip. The right hand that was left on the bar would now be in an eagle grip. In a Higgins, the turn is performed as the gymnast leaves the handstand. (more on p. 91 in rulebook) 
The blind change is much more common than the Higgins roll but both have the same value and are awarded BHS credit if they meet the technical requirements. 

Blind Change – If the giant and the ½ turn are completed within 20° of vertical, BHS credit is given. 
If the giant ½ reaches at least 45° from vertical, it would be awarded Medium credit (#8.106) 
If the swing ½ does not go to at least 45°, it is a no value swing ½ - no credit 
Higgins – Following the giant, the ½ turn should begin as close to vertical as possible and, ideally, should be finished by 20° past the vertical. If not finished at that point there is an up to 0.2 deduction depending on when the turn is complete. 
As a guideline, if the turn starts within at least 45° of vertical and finishes by horizontal, the element can still be given BHS credit as a giant ½ but deductions are taken for the timing of the turn (p. 30) as well as any body position errors that occur. 
If, following the giant, the body swings down past 45° before beginning to turn, the turn would no longer be considered as part of the giant and the element is then no longer a giant ½. HS credit would be given for the giant. The ½ turn would just be considered a swinging ½ turn and has no value in itself – just a way for the gymnast to get into position for an inward salto. The ½ turn would not break the BBS series of giant – inward salto dismount. 
Note: If the element is awarded credit for a giant ½, it would receive credit for a direction change in composition and an LA turn in event requirements. If the turn is performed too late to be given credit for a giant ½, the turn is considered as part of the dismount and would receive neither a direction change nor an LA turn. 
Note: An important principle of turns on bars is that a turn always belongs to the previous element. It does not matter what turning technique is used to turn for a giant ½. What does matter is when the turn is complete. If the turn is begun and completed too late, i.e., past the low bar at the bottom of the high bar, it does not belong to the giant. Additionally, a late turn completed at the bottom of the swing just prior to the dismount, does not belong to the dismount. Remember, the dismount occurs when the hands leave the bar. A turn while the hands are on the bar is not a part of the dismount.   1/23/12


6. Situation: If a gymnast attempts a giant but falls out of it before it is completed and then gets back up on the bars and completes 2 more giants directly connected, does the gymnast receive credit for both and get BBS credit or would the third giant not receive Value Part credit since it might be considered her third giant?
    Rule 7-6-5, Box 5.301
    Ruling: If a giant does not reach 20 degrees of vertical on the upswing (only ¾ or less of the giant is complete) it does not receive Value Part credit. If 2 more giants were completed after on a giant with a fall, the gymnast would be given Value Part credit and BBS credit.   1/23/12


7. When does judging begin after a fall?
    Rule 7-2-3
    Ruling: When a gymnast falls from the bars, judging resumes with the performance of an element that is listed in the rule book. If after a fall the gymnast remounts on the low bar then stops in a front support to crawl up to stand on the low bar, take 0.10 for uncharacteristic element plus 0.10 for lack of continuity/rhythm.   10/17/12


8. Is a fall from one bar with continuation on the other bar considered a bar change?
    Rule 7-3-3b NOTE
    Ruling: A fall from one bar with continuation on the other bar constitutes a bar change.   10/17/12


9. Situation: When does judging begin after a fall?
    Rule 7-2-3
    Ruling: After a fall on bars, judging resumes with the performance of an element that is listed in the rules book. If, after a fall, the gymnast remounts with a hip pullover on the low bar then stops in a front support to crawl up to stand on the low bar, deductions could be taken for execution errors, lack of continuity/rhythm and 0.10 for an uncharacteristic element.   12/12/12


10. Situation: How does a judge award Value Part credit and deduct for extra swings after a gymnast falls on the apparatus, but does not fall to the floor?

    Rules 4-1-2A (1) & 7-3-4 (8)

    Ruling: Value Part credit may be awarded as long as the element is completed according to the description in the book. If the gymnast ends in a hang following a fall on the apparatus after an element but does not fall off the bars, the judge should take a fall on the apparatus deduction of 0.5 and allow the gymnast to take two pump swings without penalty to regain momentum. If the gymnast does two extra swings and then falls, do not take the deduction for the extra swings and a fall. In this example, a fall deduction should be taken as execution deductions and the judge will need to decide if Value Part credit should be given. The gymnast can remount the apparatus and take two pump swings without penalty to regain momentum. In other words, do not take both a fall deduction and extra swings deductions. The end result in both cases, a 0.5 deduction instead of a 0.6 deduction, works out better for the gymnast, which is the philosophy of the National Federation.   1/24/13


11. Situation: How does a judge determine the deduction for touching/hitting or falling on the floor on bars?
    Rule 7-3-4a(7), b(7) & c(7)
    Ruling: There are degrees of touching/hitting the mat. A slight brush or touch of the mat is a 0.1 deduction. Hitting the mat with the feet, but not stopping or jumping into the next element is a 0.3 deduction. A 0.5 deduction is taken for hitting the mat hard enough to be considered a fall. On bars, gymnasts are very adept at immediately jumping off the floor to continue a glide. A rule-of-thumb to use in determining a 0.5 deduction or a 0.3 deduction is to identify the side of the bar where the hit occurred. If the hit occurs outside of the low bar before the feet cross under the low bar in the glide and stops or slows the momentum of the glide, then it is considered a 0.5 deduction for a fall. A hit on the floor on the outside of the bar that does not stop or slow the momentum is a 0.3 deduction.   1/24/13

 

12. Situation: Is a glide ½ turn glide kip one or two elements?

    Rule 7-6-1, Box 1.105

    Ruling: It is one medium element.   12/30/13

 

13. Situation: How many elements has a gymnast performed if she does a squat on the low bar, followed by a glide ½ turn glide?

    Rule 7-6-2, Box 2.101

    Ruling: She has performed two elements. #1.105 is a medium and #2.101 is a medium.   12/30/13

 

14. Situation: How many elements are given Value Part credit when a gymnast performs the following: mount-glide straddle cut, glide half turn glide kip?

    Rule 7-6-1, Boxes 1.105 & 1.207

    Ruling: There are two elements in the example. The glide straddle cut is one element and the glide half turn glide kip is the second element.   1/12/14

 

Vault

1. Situation: What is the difference between facilitate and spot on vault?
    Rule 1
    Ruling: A vault is facilitated if the coach assists a gymnast to complete the vault that would not have been completed otherwise. If a vault is facilitated it is void. A spot does not make the vault easier or assist the completion of the vault. Spotting assistance on landing is a 0.5 deduction. 
    Comment: Hand position of the coach does not necessarily determine if the coach facilitates the vault or assists on the landing.   1/23/12


2. Situation: Can the hand placement mat be placed on the runway as a hurdle aide for a handspring vault?
    Rule 1
    Ruling: Manufacturers of hand placement mats have stated that using the hand placement mat for any purpose other than hand placement for round-off entry vaults creates an unsafe situation. Therefore, the hand placement mat may not be used as a hurdle aide for other vaults.   12/12/12


3. Situation: What is the deduction for the coach standing between the board and the table as well as facilitating the first flight phase on a handspring vault?
    Rule 6-5-1c, f
    Ruling: There is a 0.5 deduction for the coach standing between the board and the table, and a 1.0 deduction for the coach facilitating the vault in the first flight phase.   12/17/12

LRG Prep2

Copyright ©2011 National Federation of State High School Associations. All Rights Reserved.

National Federation of State High School Associations
PO Box 690 • Indianapolis, IN 46206 • PHONE: 317.972.6900 • FAX: 317.822.5700

  

  Hall Of FameiHoopsLogo2     NIAAA   Let's Move In School